Increase Font
Decrease Font


Department of Chemistry

The School of Chemical Sciences of the Kannur University, Swami Anantha Theertha Campus, formerly known as the Department of Chemical Science (Material Science) came into existence in the year 2002. The Department has been started to undertake post graduate teaching and research activities in Chemistry with specialization in Material Science which is a frontier area in science.

The Department was formally inaugurated by the then Director of the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) of the UGC, Prof. V.N. Rajasekharan Pillai on 24th January, 2003 at Morrikovval in Payyanur in the Kannur District. The Department started functioning in a rented accommodation in the second floor of the Rendezvous Sports Complex building at Moorikovval in Payyanur. The opening of a University Department in the frontier area of scientific development has been a vision come true of the higher education authorities of the Kannur University and is the fulfillment of a long cherished ambition of everybody concerned about the development of higher education facilities in science subjects in this culturally rich, but socially and educationally backward area of north Kerala.