Increase Font
Decrease Font


The Department of Molecular Biology was started in the year 2008 in Dr PK Rajan Memorial Campus, with MSc program in Molecular Biology, under the Course Directorship of Dr. Aravindan Tharemmal. By the end of 2015, Dr Soorej M Basheer joined the department as Assistant Professor and in 2017 he took charge as HOD. At present, the Department is a recognised research centre of Kannur University. The Department offers MSc and PhD in Molecular Biology. The sanctioned strength for MSc program is 20 (16+4NRI).

The succession of Course Directors/HoDs is as given below:

  1. Dr. Aravindan Tharemmal (Course Director) : 19-08-2008 - 18-08-2011
  2. Dr. AM Sreedharan ( Course Director (i/c) ): 19-08-2011 - 18-03-2012
  3. Mrs. Shamseera V. V. ( Course Director ) : 19-03-2012 - 24-11-2013
  4. Dr.AM Sreedharan (Course Director (i/c)) : 25-11-2013 - 14-06-2015
  5. Dr.Suresh Mohan Ghosh ( Course Director ) : 15-06-2015 - 22-10-2017
  6. Dr.Soorej M Basheer ( HoD ) :23-10-2017 - ongoing

Around 150 students have passed out from this department. Many of them are in research or teaching profession, few are in industries. The department celebrated its 10th Anniversary in the year 2018 with various programs.