Increase Font
Decrease Font


Department of Malayalam Kannur University, was established in 2002 at Mahakavi P. Smarakam Kanhangad. There were no colleges offering PG course in Malayalam in Kasaragod district at that time. Dr. A K Nambiar, the eminent folklorist and dramatist, was the first course co- ordinator. In 2006 permanent faculty were appointed in the department. Dr. A M Sreedharan ( Reader ) was the first head of the department. Dr.Sivadas K K and Dr Reeja V were appointed as professors. The department was shifted to Dr. P K Rajan memorial campus at Nileswaram in 2008. Dr Reeja V is the head of the department at present. Since 2006 The department has been functioning as Kannur University’s main Center of Research in Malayalam Language and Literature. The strength of the M A Malayalam batch was 25 and it was increased to 35 in 2014 . 15 batches have already completed their course . 24 research scholars have been awarded Doctoral degree so far . 9 research scholars are currently pursuing Ph.D in the department. We have conducted national seminers and workshops with financial assistance from Kendra Sahithya Academy, National Translation Mission ,Central Istitute of Indian languages , Kerala Sahithya Akademy from 2012 has been publishing a research journal Thudi is from 2012. A literary award in the name of the former Vice-Chancellor Dr P K Rajan was established by the department from 2012 onwards.