Increase Font
Decrease Font


The Department of Statistical Sciences was established in 2008 at Mangattuparamba Campus of the Kannur University. The Mangattuparamba Campus is located at Dharmasala, about 18 Km from Kannur railway station towards north, along NH17. During 2008 to 2016 Dr. M. Kumaran and Dr. N. K Narayanan served as the Course Directors of the Department. Dr.Joby K. Jose joined the department as Assistant professor on 16 December 2015 and he served as the Head of the department during 2016 June to 2020 August. On 25 June 2020, Dr. Sebastian George joined the department as Associate Professor and he took the charge as head of the department on 17 August 2020.

The Department of Statistical Sciences has an objective of producing a team of young and efficient statisticians from the jurisdiction of Kannur.  To cater this, the Department is currently offering Postgraduate (MSc) and Doctoral (PhD) programmes in Statistics. The sanctioned number of students for the M.Sc. programme is 25.  The Department has an internet enabled computer lab with 25 computers and a library with more than 1000 books. The department offers training to students and research scholars in Statistical Computing using SPSS and R software.

The department has organised several academic programmes  in recent years which include the International Conference INCABS-11 in 2011, the  National Conferences NSSM-12 in 2012, NCASS-17 in 2017 and NCASM-18 in 2018. Eminent statisticians like Dr. N. Balakrishna (McMaster University Hamilton, Canada), Dr. Kannan (Georgea University Athens USA), Dr. A. M. Mathai (McGill University, Canada), Dr.Tomaz J Kozubowski (University of Nevada, USA), Dr.Vimal Roy (Director ISI) has visited the Department from time to time