Increase Font
Decrease Font


Department of Physics

The Post Graduate Department of Physics of the Kannur University was established in 2003 with an intake of 15 students and was housed at Edat about two kilometers from Payyanur town towards south. At this beautiful site away from the bustle and pollution of the city, modern buildings with all infrastructure facilities for MSc & Research programme in Physics was already established.

The aim of the establishment of the Department is to provide up to date instruction to our students to meet the requirement of trained manpower in Physics for teaching, research, engineering, and other vocations mainly to benefit the aspiring students of the northern part of Kerala. The University is taking all efforts to develop this campus as a center of excellence with well-qualified faculty and providing modern teaching, computer and research laboratories. The Department has plans to introduce programs for research leading to M.Phil during the coming years. The thrust area of teaching is chosen as Material Science which includes areas such as Thin Film Technology, Semiconductor Materials, Nanomaterials, Lasers and Optoelectronics, Polymer Materials, Composite Materials, Photovoltaic Energy Conversion, Ceramic Materials, etc. The main thrust area of research is Nuclear Physics and Material Science.